Health-Boosting Bone Broth

Before my surgery in December 2016, I did a good bit of research and preparation on what foods I could stock up on, and expect to need. One of the best moves I made was to make my own delicious, nutritious bone broth. I made both beef and chicken and froze it in 4 oz. portions.

My recipe was based on one of my favorite blogs… Wellness Mama. Here’s the link to her Bone Broth article with instructions.

“Besides it’s amazing taste and culinary uses, broth is an excellent source of minerals and is known to boost the immune system (chicken soup when you are sick anyone?) and improve digestion. Its high calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus content make it great for bone and tooth health. Bone broth also supports joints, hair, skin, and nails due to its high collagen content. In fact, some even suggest that it helps eliminate cellulite as it supports smooth connective tissue.” ~Wellness Mama

I started drinking the broth (plain) in the 2 weeks prior to surgery when my diet was mostly liquids, and I found it very satisfying. The difference between this broth and anything you can buy at the store is vast! It tastes amazing and I really think my body felt the nutrients. I have to say I made it through those 2 tough weeks with little hunger.

And, of course, post-surgery the early days were also mostly liquid, so the homemade broths came in very handy. When I was able to move on to creamier liquids, the broths made plain condensed soups, like cream of chicken or mushroom, a great deal healthier and tastier than had I just added water. It was very enjoyable.

I also use bone broths in recipes that call for liquids. I like to add the protein and nutrients into everything possible.

The bottom line is that we eat so little, it’s best to make every bite as nutritious and delicious as it can possibly be. Try making your own bone broth. You’ll never go back.

Leave a Reply

